Political Science

The Department of Political Science, in the Faculty of Arts, Management and Social Sciences, Spiritan University, Nneochi, Abia State, is one of the Take-off programmes in 2018/2019. It offers a four (4) years Degree Programme in Political Science with a wide range of subjects leading to the award of the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Degree in Political Science.

In addition to the stipulated course work, students must complete the number of required credit hours in the University’s common courses, Intra-Faculty courses, Inter-Departmental courses, the Departmental core courses as well as present a thoroughly researched project to earn their degrees. Practical orientation or supervised industrial training is emphasized before graduation.



The mission of political science discipline is to produce graduates with critical mind, requisite ability and skill to analyse, comprehend, predict and influence the factors that shape and mould power relationships in an ever-changing socio-political environment in the globalizing world. Therefore, the philosophy of the department is rooted in the liberal principles of broad-based education in the general field of Social Sciences as well as specialized knowledge in Political Science with a view to preparing the students to meet the human resources needs of developing society and developing in them entrepreneurial knowledge, a sense of public responsibility and a spirit of self-reliance.